Memory Lane Mondays

Last week I thoroughly enjoyed writing about some of my favourite childhood shows and hearing your reactions, so I thought I would continue post something ridiculous or memorable from my childhood every monday. I have so many things I want to share and I will get to most of them eventually. Although today I want to focus on one topic that will probably resonate more with the ladies rather than the men. Unless however, they were unfortunate to have cruel mothers or dressed themselves in the dark, and then maybe not. Two words: Northern Getaway. Before I get into detail, let me paint a picture for those who either were  A. fortunate enough to NOT be clothed in NG gems or B. who don’t have a clue what I’m talking about. Most of the outfits (for girls) consisted of a shirt with various animals or fauna and matching tights, with or without foot stirrups. If you were REALLY lucky though, your mother would buy you the NG classic: Wolf/kitten sweat suit. I had both. A navy wolf sweat suit and a hot pink kitten one. Luckily, most of my friends sported the same look and therefore were the class trend setters from years 93-96.

I understand why our parents did this to us. Sorry, why our mothers did this. The clothes were cheap and there was an NG store located in a mall in the closest neighboring ‘city.’ But just because they were available doesn’t mean they should have been worn and even more importantly, coveted. I will admit, I LOVED my animal shirts (and those close to me understand my love for them even more today) but the PANTS?? Come on. Aside from the fact that we all had mini camel toes from the ages of 8-11, they were the WORST. Whoever invented stirrup pants should be killed, or at the very least forced to wear them everyday in their adult lives. Those were the most uncomfortable things ever. You could feel them in your shoes all day and if any of you had OCD like me when I was little, this was the BANE of your existence.

To add insult to injury, when we thought we were outgrowing this trend and were starting to become ‘cool’ or even accepted in the eyes of our peers, listening to the new it boy bands and worshiping the Spice Girls, it got worse. WAY worse. At this moment I would like to thank my mother for NOT giving into my demands at the time. Yes ladies you know what’s coming…. CATSTREET BOYS & SPICE MICE. I mean honestly, these girls (or boys) didn’t stand a chance ! It wasn’t enough to have REGULAR animals depicted with balls of yarn and butterflies around their heads… they had to come out with cats and mice dressed as our favourite bands with wigs and microphones and matching tights to complete the ensemble. Bastards.

I have looked for images of these shirts tirelessly but cannot find Catstreet Boys or Spice Mice anywhere. I even looked through childhood pictures to find what I was looking for but to no avail. I did find t-shirts and sweaters from NG but they were too small to post. I did however find a few items that should spark your memory, if my descriptions didn’t do you justice.

Please go to these links to see the rest, they wouldn’t load properly:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HORSES-Northern-Getaway-Girls-Size-6-XS-T-Shirt-Lot-NEW-/300402935733#ht_846wt_956

In all seriousness though, some of the clothes we sported during our childhood were FAR worse than our NG outfits we loved. But come on, Spice Mice? Catstreet Boys? They needed to draw the line somewhere. Unfortunately we were the generation that crossed it, many times over. But you know what? Looking back, I as I’m sure most of you, secretly love it. Well, most of it anyway.

Happy Monday!

 

 

 

One thought on “Memory Lane Mondays

  1. Omg I had like 4 spice mice and catstreet shirts! I always took scissors and cut the stupid straps on the bottom of those pants! Didn’t have to wear them after that! Haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

