Memory Lane Mondays (Thursday Edition).

As a child of the 90’s I was fortunate enough to experience the best shows TV had to offer and the best toys and games ever created, most of which are now obsolete and extremely undervalued. I think girls had it better than boys in terms of merchandise, however there were definitely toys my brothers had that I envied… Ghostbusters Proton Packs, Nintendo (mainly Duck Hunt) and their My Pet Monster stuffed animals. Of course Barbie’s and Cabbage Patch dolls were the front-runners when I was born, as were the princess themed Disney movies at that time (Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty & The Beast etc). However, one toy sticks out in my mind to this day that was the be all end all of toys…

Ladies (and some very lucky boys) if you were fortunate to be the recipient of these toys circa 1992, you will understand how truly amazing they were and what it meant for your social status among your friends.. yes we 5 & 6 year olds were quite cliquey. I am talking of course, about…. wait for it…

PUPPY SURPRISE!!!!!

Or Kitty Surprise and Pony Surprise if you were like me. If you are sitting here going what the hell is she talking about, these are stuffed animals that came in different styles and the biggest treat of all… have babies stuffed inside them! You never knew how many were inside the mother (hence the term surprise) or if they would be girl or boy babies. I had Kitty and Pony Surprise and I think my cat came with 4 kittens (2 girls and 2 boys) and my pony with 3 (I don’t remember what gender).

I remember getting Kitty Surprise for my birthday and because my birthday falls in September, fall had arrived and there were piles of leaves everywhere… I bet you can only imagine where this story is going. So I proudly walked to school that morning with my Kitty and all of her kittens in hand, ready to show off my new present to all my friends. I arrived at school, beaming, and got right down to the business of ordering around my friends and dolling out who would get their turn when and for how many minutes… because holding a kitten stuffed with beans was SO LIFE CHANGING. Well, in all reality it probably was at the time. Anyway, the day wore on and slowly but surely I lost 3 of my 4 beloved kittens. Devastated, I walked home preparing my story for my mother about what happened to the remaining 3 kittens. (I should probably mention that by the age of 4 I was a story-teller and pathological liar of EPIC proportions… Don’t believe me? I told my Grade 1 teacher my dad had no arms and legs and I had about 7 brothers and sisters) SO, I have the perfect story conjured up in my head and sure enough, when I got home my mom was waiting to see the condition of Kitty Surprise. Once she saw that I was missing 3 kittens, my story spilled out. There was an exchange student visiting from China (naturally, seeing as I live in the middle of nowhere) for one day only and took 2 kittens back with her… obviously there was no way of contacting this imaginary girls parents and therefore I was in the clear. I also said one of my friends stole the other one… how nice am I? In reality I lost them in the numerous piles of leaves that were gathered all throughout the playground.

So, unfortunately for me while I still had the mother cat, I only had one kitten left to show for it. Thankfully, Santa recognized my plight caused by the unfortunate incident with the Chinese girl and brought me Pony Surprise for Christmas.

Still don’t understand how amazing these stuffed animals really were? Watch for yourself!

One thought on “Memory Lane Mondays (Thursday Edition).

Leave a Reply

